Buckeye Basketball: Bates-Diop named Big Ten Player of the Year

Chris Holtmann and Keita Bates Diop.jpg
File photo (WSYX/WTTE and AP)

COLUMBUS, Ohio (WSYX/WTTE) -- Ohio State's surprising season has come with multiple accolades, both for first-year head coach Chris Holtmann and several of his players.

After Holtmann was named Big Ten Coach of the Year, junior forward Keita Bates-Diop -- second in the Big Ten in both scoring (19.2 ppg) and rebounding (8.9 rpg)-- was named the league's player of the year.

Holtmann, the former Butler and Gardner-Webb head coach, led the Buckeyes to a 24-7 regular season (15-3 in the Big Ten) and second seed in the Big Ten Tournament after OSU was predicted to finish 11th out of 14 teams in the league.

Forward Jae'Sean Tate -- a Pickerington Central alum -- was named to the coaches' second team after averaging 12.5 points and 6.2 rebounds per game. Center Kaleb Wesson -- from Westerville South -- made the All-Freshman team averaging 11.0 points and 5.2 rebounds was a team-high 57.5% shooting from the field.