Big Ten Media Days: Spartans, Buckeyes tops on preseason team

FILE - In this March 6, 2019, file photo, Ohio State quarterback Justin Fields, left, and wide receiver K.J. Hill run through a drill during the NCAA college football team's practice in Columbus, Ohio. First-year coach Ryan Day of defending conference champion Ohio State insisted after the Buckeyes’ spring game last Saturday he hadn’t decided between Georgia transfer Justin Fields and redshirt freshman Matthew Baldwin, who spent much of last season rehabbing a knee injury. Baldwin announced he would transfer on Thursday, April 18, 2019, erasing any doubt that Fields, the biggest acquisition of the offseason, would be the starter. (AP Photo/Paul Vernon, File)

It's never too early for some Ohio State-Michigan sniping.

Hours after Wolverines coach Jim Harbaugh took a swipe at former Buckeyes coach Urban Meyer's legacy, Ohio State defensive end Jonathon Cooper played along.

Cooper was asked about new co-defensive coordinator Greg Mattison, who spent 13 seasons under different coaches at Michigan, including the entire Harbaugh tenure. Cooper said Mattison is great and has a great legacy "with the team up north."

By refusing to name Michigan, Cooper was acting just like former Buckeyes coach Woody Hayes, who famously refused to mention his rival by name.

Michigan State and Ohio State each placed two players on the preseason all-Big Ten team announced Thursday.

Junior running back J.K. Dobbins and defensive end Chase Young were the Buckeyes and linebacker Joe Bachie and defensive end Kenny Willekes, two seniors, were named for the Spartans. Penn State junior defensive end Yetur Gross-Matos was the fifth player on the East Division team.

The West list included Northwestern junior linebacker Paddy Fisher, Wisconsin junior running back Jonathan Taylor, Iowa junior defensive end A.J. Epenesa, Nebraska sophomore quarterback Adrian Martinez and Purdue sophomore wide receiver/return specialist Rondale Moore.

A media panel selected the 10-member list, which included six defensive players.